Nicki Minaj Says American Idol is No Place for a Rapper

9 Jan
Picture Courtesy of Us Magazine

Picture Courtesy of Us Magazine

I actually agree with her a lot, and anyone that watches, or has watched American Idol knows she is speaking the truth.  But, I think it would be fun if a rapper did try out and actually make it.

Via LA Times:

Even though her episodes have yet to hit the airwaves, Nicki Minaj’s addition to the “American Idol” panel has already been one of the competition’s more polarizing decisions during its decade-plus history.

Fans of the aging singing competition were vocal about what the entertainer — known for  bawdy, razor-sharp raps, colorful wigs and eye-popping garb a la Lady Gaga — could bring to the panel, especially after the ballyhooed signing of pop diva Mariah Carey.

Online commenters questioned her ability to offer credible criticism to aspiring singers, given her hip-hop background, while others felt she shouldn’t be on a panel with an industry veteran such as Carey. Talk of Minaj’s “adequacy” came to a head in a leaked, expletive-laced argument between the two.   

Whatever the opinions are about Minaj, she made one thing clear to reporters Tuesday morning at the TV press tour for “Idol” in Pasadena: Don’t expect her to push for more rap on the show.

“This is definitely not a rap competition, and when I got involved with [‘Idol’], I specifically said I hope they didn’t try to do that because I was on the show,” she said. “America loves that it’s an honest singing competition and I’m not here to change that, I’m here to judge.

“I definitely don’t think a rapper should be in this competition. Rap and hip-hop is completely different from ‘American Idol.’ I started off in the streets, selling mixtapes out of my car. It’s a different situation.

Fun fact:  when I was typing the title of this post, I originally spelled rapper, wrapper.  LOL

Leave a Reply

